TL;DR
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The FDA granted accelerated approval to Voceryq, a plasmid DNA-based immunotherapy, to reduce the frequency of surgeries in adults with recurrent respiratory papillomatosis. In the trial cited by the agency, 27% of a 26-patient subgroup required no excisions during 12 months of follow-up; postmarketing studies must verify the benefit.
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has granted accelerated approval to Voceryq to reduce how often adults with recurrent respiratory papillomatosis need surgery to remove airway growths. The plasmid DNA-based immunotherapy is intended for a rare, HPV-related disease in which growths can return after removal and, in severe cases, make breathing difficult.
The FDA based its decision on efficacy findings from RRP-001, an open-label phase I/II trial involving 32 patients who had undergone at least two surgeries in the year before treatment. Among the 26 patients who had undergone at least three operations in that period, 27% had a complete response: they needed no surgical excisions during 12 months of follow-up.
Voceryq is the brand name for doruxapapogene ralaplasmid-lalikinogene sifuplasmid. It contains two plasmids carrying genetic instructions related to HPV proteins and interleukin 12. The treatment is designed to prompt patients’ healthy cells to produce those proteins and stimulate an immune response against cells infected with HPV types 6 and 11, which cause RRP.
The treatment course starts with surgery to reduce visible papilloma, followed by four intramuscular doses given every three weeks. It is approved for use with the CELLECTRA 5PSP DNA medicine delivery device. FDA labeling warns of possible muscle contractions, temporary bleeding and vasovagal reactions. Reported common trial adverse events included injection-site reactions, headache, fatigue, high blood pressure, nausea and dizziness.
A New Option to Reduce Repeat Surgery
RRP growths often return, so patients may need repeated procedures to clear them from the airway. The FDA approval gives eligible adults an approved immunotherapy option intended to reduce the frequency of those operations, rather than relying on surgery alone to remove visible growths.
That potential matters because, as investigator Simon Best said in a statement issued by manufacturer Inovio Pharmaceuticals, each surgery carries a risk of laryngeal injury. The trial result is encouraging for some patients, but it does not show that surgery can be avoided by everyone: the reported complete-response figure applied to a subgroup, and most patients in that subgroup did not meet that outcome during the follow-up period.
Products Worth Considering

TheraGun Therabody PRO Plus 6-in-1 Deep Tissue Massage Gun, Black

Garmin Forerunner 165 GPS Running Smartwatch, 43 mm, Black

Hyperice Normatec 3 Leg Compression Boots – Full Leg Recovery, Standard Size
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How RRP Treatment Has Developed
Recurrent respiratory papillomatosis is caused by HPV-related growths that develop in the respiratory tract, especially around the larynx. There is no cure; surgery can remove growths, but they may recur. Severe disease can extend farther into the respiratory tract and obstruct breathing.
The FDA approved zopapogene imadenovec (Papzimeos) for RRP in 2025, the first approved medical therapy for the condition, according to the source report. Voceryq is described as the first FDA-approved recombinant plasmid DNA-based immunotherapy. Its accelerated approval is based on trial efficacy data, with further studies required to confirm and describe clinical benefit.
“Every surgery carries the risk of laryngeal injury.”
— Simon Best, MD, Johns Hopkins University, in a statement from Inovio Pharmaceuticals
What the Trial Has Not Established
The reported results come from a small, open-label trial, and the 27% complete-response figure refers only to 26 participants with at least three surgeries in the preceding year. The source report does not provide the full results for all 32 participants, a comparison with a control group, or details about how outcomes varied among patients.
It is not yet clear how durable the response will be beyond the 12-month follow-up reported here, which patients are most likely to benefit, or how the therapy will affect surgery needs in broader clinical use. The FDA requires postmarketing trials to verify and describe the treatment’s clinical benefit. The approval also does not mean that patients can stop surgery immediately; the regimen itself begins with surgical debulking.
Postmarketing Studies Will Track Benefit
Inovio will be required to conduct postmarketing trials to verify and further characterize Voceryq’s clinical benefit. Those studies are expected to add evidence beyond the initial trial findings, though the source report does not specify their timeline or design.
In the near term, the approved regimen combines initial surgical removal of visible growths with four doses of the therapy at three-week intervals. How often patients need subsequent operations, how long any reduction lasts and how the therapy performs in routine care remain key outcomes to follow.
Key Questions
What is Voceryq approved to do?
The FDA granted accelerated approval for Voceryq to reduce the frequency of surgical papilloma excisions in adults with recurrent respiratory papillomatosis. The approval does not establish that every patient can avoid further surgery.
What did the trial report?
In the subgroup of 26 patients who had at least three surgeries in the year before treatment, 27% needed no excisions during 12 months of follow-up. The trial enrolled 32 patients overall.
How is the treatment given?
The regimen starts with surgery to reduce visible growths, followed by four intramuscular doses given every three weeks. It is used with the CELLECTRA 5PSP delivery device.
What side effects were reported?
Common adverse events in trials included injection-site reactions, headache, fatigue, high blood pressure, nausea and dizziness. FDA labeling also warns about muscle contractions, temporary bleeding and vasovagal reactions.
Will further studies be required?
Yes. The FDA requires postmarketing trials to verify and describe the therapy’s clinical benefit. Their timing and design were not specified in the source report.
Source: medpagetoday.com
